Accept cookies Danmarks Nationalbank uses cookies to monitor traffic on our website. This allows us to improve our website and make it more accessible to users. Therefore, we would like you to accept cookies on Danmarks Nationalbank's website. You can delete our cookies at any time.   More about cookies

About us Tasks Notes and coins Euro Monetary policy Market info Statistics Government debt
<< Home / Tasks / Distribution of responsibilities
News service Site map Dansk   Search Log on
Financial stability Press room Publications Rules
Back to the frontpage

Introduction to Danmarks Nationalbank's tasks

Distribution of responsibilities

Monetary and exchange-rate policy

Banknotes and coins

Financial stability

Payment systems

Danish Payments Council


Danmarks Nationalbank's risk management

International cooperation

Government debt management

The Systemic Risk Council

Danmarks Nationalbank | | |QR code for mobile units

Distribution of responsibilities

There is a clear distribution of responsibilities between the Danish government and Danmarks Nationalbank in relation to economic policy.

Danmarks Nationalbank is responsible for the element of economic policy called monetary policy, while the Danish government and the Parliament (Folketinget) are responsible for fiscal policy and economic policy in general.

Through its monetary policy, Danmarks Nationalbank ensures that the exchange-rate of the krone is stable vis-à-vis the euro. Monetary policy thus contributes to keeping inflation at bay.

Danmarks Nationalbank is independent of the government in relation to monetary policy. It is important that fiscal policy and economic policy in general also support the fixed-exchange-rate policy.

The fixed-exchange-rate policy has been pursued since 1982.

Last update: 03/31/2014

Read by others

Danmarks Nationalbank
Havnegade 5
DK - 1093
Copenhagen K
Contact us Disclaimer