Accept cookies Danmarks Nationalbank uses cookies to monitor traffic on our website. This allows us to improve our website and make it more accessible to users. Therefore, we would like you to accept cookies on Danmarks Nationalbank's website. You can delete our cookies at any time.   More about cookies

About us Tasks Notes and coins Euro Monetary policy Market info Statistics Government debt
<< Home / Euro / Introduction to the euro
News service Site map Dansk   Search Log on
Financial stability Press room Publications Rules
Back to the frontpage

Introduction to the euro

The European Central Bank and the Eurosystem

The ECB's monetary policy

Denmark and the euro

Non-euro area EU member states

Economic-policy cooperation in the EU

History of the Euro

Danmarks Nationalbank | | |QR code for mobile units

Introduction to the euro

The euro is the single currency of the 18 EU member states that form the Euro Area. The euro has replaced the former national currencies, e.g. the Finnish mark, the D-mark and the French franc. The single currency was introduced on 1 January 1999 (2001 in Greece, 2007 in Slovenia, 2008 in Cyprus and Malta, 2009 in Slovakia, in 2011 in Estonia, and in 2014 in Latvia but existed in the period 1999-2001 only as electronic money. On 1 January 2002 euro banknotes and coins were put into circulation.

The 18 euro area member states have a single currency, a common interest rate and a common central bank.

Denmark has not introduced the euro, but the Danish krone is pegged closely to the euro in ERM II, the EU's exchange rate mechanism.

Link to Euro map

Country abbreviations

Last update: 02/05/2014

More information
Read by others

Danmarks Nationalbank
Havnegade 5
DK - 1093
Copenhagen K
Contact us Disclaimer